Internship Day 3 & 4

Day 3 of my internship started out with organizing myself in my workspace and proceed to check work mail. I had to update my calendar for future internship workshop/events and a photoshops Monday with my team! Needless to say I’m very excited for everything that’s up and coming. I was then asked by my manager to do some research on t-shirt companies that she needed information on for an upcoming project. I sent out emails and got quotas, shipping details, and other information I needed in order to present my manager with a variety of options.

Day four I picked up where I started and finished my research on the companies. I presented an excel file with a side by side comparison of the companies and a PowerPoint presentation which included images and more notes on each company.
And also sent her some designs I thought would be most aesthetically appealing.

At Pitney Bowes we use ‘Yammer’ which is a business social media site used to network. There I saw a post about ‘Udemy’ which is a website that teaches you about certain skills such as Web Development. A couple of other employees and I were interested and I emailed the appropriate sources in order to sign up and am eagerly waiting a response back. This is just one of the many benefits of working at PB! A great network and many opportunities.

Back to my 4th day at work, I then had to run over and see my University Relations Rep. In order to pick up a book for a Tuesday event all interns are invited to. The event is titled “University Intern Presentation Skills by Kevin Carrol” and the book it’s titled “Make your point!” With a tag line that reads “speak clearly and concisely anyplace, anytime”…After I picked up the book I went back to my cubicle and it was almost time for lunch.

Earlier that day my manager had said we would be going out to Lunch. A group of 5 of us went to a local deli shop called ‘Whip!’ And sat down to talk and get to know and learn more about everyone. It was a very fun lunch with all of us talking about everything from owning a boat, going for a masters degree, and talking about the FIFA World Cup event.

Once we got back to the office I signed into Lynda.com where I began to familiarize myself with InDesign more and practiced on some of the templates we have in one of the network folders. In between my practice I also had to fill out some forms for my University Relations rep. I have gotten use to filling out numerous paperwork at corporate America.

Also it should be noted that my manager gave me the account information to sign into Lynda.com a website full of tutorials on how to use numerous software that usually costs money but as a PB intern, I get for free! And I have two screens at desktop and use a Mac! On my computer I have the entire Adobe suite at my disposal!

Other details I have are a company email where I email other PB employees or just communicate while I’m working. At PB we also ‘ping’ each other with is instant messaging using communicator. I sometimes ping my manager or university relations rep. And have also kept communication with my other fellow PB intern I met during InRoads**

Leave a Reply

